Three cheese salud

Tonight, I went to the store hungry. Bad girl! Really, I knew better, but we needed milk. Yeah, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Still, some good came of it… we had some appetizers.

I’m wandering around Brookside Market, grabbing a rotisserie chicken and some organic spinach salad. I decided that since it wasn’t 100 degrees out, it might be nice to have some crackers and cheese before dinner, maybe with a drink, out on our porch before the vampiric bugs begin their nightly attacks. I grabbed a box of the delish Kashi TLC crackers (I know, I know, that’s like saying ATM machine, sorry), and wandered over to the fancy cheese section (which, for reasons unbeknownst to me, is miles away from the everyday cheeses).

I wound up with three soft fruity cheeses: Gourmandise with kirsch, Chevre with cranberries and cinnamon, and a Stilton with mango and ginger. At home, I smushed three lemons and three limes to make a pitcher of lemonlimeade, and made Lemon Drops with it (oh darn, had to use the plain Ketel One, don’t have any citrus vodkas on hand right now).

Here’s what it all looked like:

IMG_0689

The Stilton was my favorite (oddly, it tasted like apricots, not mangos). Not too strong or sweet, held up nicely to the citrus in the drinks. The goat cheese was good, too (cranberries and cinnamon taste like cherries), not overly musky like some chevre. My husband liked the Kirsch cheese, which was good because I liked it the least… the cherry flavor was faint and almost medicinal.

Still, it was nice to have a theme for the evening, and there’s enough to enjoy again tomorrow. Well, enough cheese… we made short work of the drinks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

