Walking-distance sushi? Can it be true?!

According to Present Magazine, there’s a new Japanese restaurant featuring sushi, with a chef who has 20 years of experience! It’s where the old Einstein Bros. bagel shop used to be…

According to the KC Star: “Domo Sushi & Grill has opened at 6322 Brookside Plaza. The locally owned restaurant serves sushi and Asian-fusion items such as coconut basil shrimp, albacore tuna tataki and sashimi. It hopes to add breakfast items soon, including rice dumplings in a honey glaze with egg.”

Go check out the photos in Present… both the restaurant and the food look fabulous. I wanted to visit Avenues this weekend… maybe I can talk my sweetie into breakfast there on Saturday when we go down for the farmers’ market, and sushi for lunch later.

A few weeks back, we visited the new Artisan Français bakery for breakfast, and snagged a rack of McGonigle’s amazing ribs on the way home for lunch. We spent less than we would have on a dinner, and got several happy hours of enjoyment out of our travels. I think I could live with this kind of Saturday tradition!

A quick update on the tarragon: I did make that cacciatore recipe, and it was really good. I wondered why the thyme was added during cooking but the tarragon only at the very end. Looking it up, I find that tarragon’s oils are extremely volatile, and will be destroyed with heat… and also with drying, which is why I think I never really liked tarragon before. The dried stuff I’ve added to salad dressings and such never seemed to do a whole lot, and now I know why. Tonight’s sauce had a wonderful layered flavor, with hints of mint, cloves, and cinnamon (the Web site I read also said that it is usually associated with licorice, but I didn’t get any of that tonight). The oils apparently survive better when preserved in vinegar, so I might throw my remaining sprigs in some white vinegar and see what happens… I think I’m going to ask my friend for a plant so I can have this stuff on hand all the time (French tarragon apparently cannot be grown from seed).

The rest of the cacciatore will be perfect for a nice shepherd’s pie later this weekend, I think, along with the leftover tiny boiled new potatoes and green beans with shallots and bacon that I made to go with the chicken. The wine we made the cacciatore with (and subsequently polished off with dinner) was a 2004 Rosemont Chardonnay from Australia, one of a series of Down-Under wines I’ve recently been enjoying immensely on the recommendation of the wine buyer at Brookside Market.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

