A sturdy standby

We have a household favorite recipe that gets trotted out about once a month: Rainbow Peanut Noodles. I’m not sure why the “rainbow” is there, because there isn’t much color besides brown, but we still love ’em. The recipe is really easy, fast, and vegan, so I thought maybe other folks might like to know about it too.


Rainbow Peanut Sauce Noodles

Rainbow Peanut Noodles
(source lost to the dusty annals of history, plus I’ve made some changes here and there)

1 lb. pasta (anything with lots of surface area works best, but we’ve done this with elbows, spaghetti, you name it)
1 1/2″ ginger, finely grated
8 cloves garlic (more if you feel a cold coming on!)
1 tsp. hot chili paste (tonight I used Sriracha chili sauce)
1/2 c. peanut butter, any brand
1/4 c. soy sauce
3 1/2 T. sugar
3 1/2 T. rice vinegar
3 T. toasted sesame oil
5 T. water or broth

While the noodles are boiling, throw everything else into your blender and whizz together. Once noodles are drained, return to pot or serving bowl and pour sauce over them. Toss to coat and serve.

Serves 3-4 (depending on appetite… tonight I doubled this and served it to my family of 6 with a green salad, and there’s maybe one small serving left over for someone’s lunch tomorrow)

Sometimes I’ll saute a couple of chopped-up chicken breasts in vegetable and sesame oil with a couple shakes of garlic salt (for the meat-eaters in the family to mix in), or steam up a head of broccoli… this is a pretty forgiving recipe that encourages creativity. Go for it!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A sturdy standby

  1. OK, so on my second attempt at this, I think I got it right.
    I’m home sick today with a wicked head cold and thought I’d give this another try.
    My first attempt not so good. I added chicken and thinking that I knew better than the chef (my appologies) I put all of the sauce istuff except peanut butter, in the dish I baked the chicken in. And I forgot the soy sauce. It was not good.

    So taking what I learned last time, and having all the correct ingridients, tried again. The only modifications I made was I added 1tbs of Emerells Lemon, Rosemary and Garlic sauce (it was right by the other stuff in the fridge and sounded like a good idea) and I added some honey roasted peanuts to the mix before I blended.

    It’s awesome and thank you so much!!!

  2. love your journal. i added you to my friends list. hope you add me back.

  3. When you say peanut butter, do you mean health-food store non-sweetened stuff? Or just regular-old supermarket peanut butter?

    Sounds great and easy! I need to be cooking at home more often, so I should make this one night.

    • I’ve used both… if the supermarket stuff is pretty sweet, you might want to cut down on the amount of other sugar in the sauce. I’d just taste it and see what it needed.

      If you do this, I’d love to hear how you guys like it!

Leave a Reply

