Gateau au chocolat

IMG_1352.JPG

I saw the recipe for this in my local paper, and decided to give it a try yesterday. It turned out delicious, and took about an hour, start to finish! I’d never done a yeast-risen cake before…

Still, it was a bit eggy, and with a bit of googling, I see that often the eggs are separated, with the whites whipped and folded in, and I think that would have made quite a difference. Also, the recipe I used just said “butter,” and I used unsalted… in other recipes, I’m seeing the use of a dash of salt when using the unsalted butter. And I also see no yeast but rather cake flour… might have to try again with some changes.

For my use later:

4 eggs, separated
3/4 or 1 c. sugar
8 oz bittersweet chocolate
1/4 lb. butter
1/2 or 3/4 c. cake flour
vanilla? cointreau? kahlua?

Still, it was a nice way to celebrate a beautiful autumn day with some friends over espresso.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Gateau au chocolat

  1. Wow. Thanks for this. I had a French neighbor who used to whip up cakes on this order at the drop of a hat. I would never have guessed you would need yeast with the whipped up egg whites?? Thanks.

    • i don’t think you DO need yeast AND whipped whites. i think this recipe used the yeast INSTEAD of whipped whites, which does indeed make the recipe go together faster (and with less clean-up… don’t have to wash the whipping bowl or beaters)… BUT i do want to try it the other way and see how it measures up.

Leave a Reply

