A Valentine’s day present

I wanted to make something special for my family for Valentine’s Day, and it snowed like crazy the other day, so I decided to dig up that thrift-store ice cream freezer I got last fall and try out some sorbet.

I squeezed ten blood oranges:

IMG_0002.JPG

and used a recipe I found on Epicurious, freezing with snow. It took about an hour, but that’s probably because the mix was closer to room temperature instead of being chilled before I put it in the freezer.

Here’s how it turned out:

IMG_0009.JPG

Delicious!

Happy Valentine’s Day to you all…. hope you had a sweet surprise today!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Valentine’s day present

  1. That is beautiful sorbet, and I bet it tasted as good as it looks. Lucky family. Happy Vday to you!

  2. Ooh, I was just thinking of making blood orange sorbet — I have the oranges and everything!

  3. sorbet

    The sorbet looks great. While I like oranges, I have never been too fond of blood oranges (the color maybe?)

    Linc’s pic is very cute and he does like chocolate doesn’t he!

    Hope the package got there o.k., and that you all have a happy V. day.

Leave a Reply

