Food therapy

Today was just one thing after another. So after life had kicked me for the fifteenth time, I hung up and headed to the kitchen… I KNOW I can do good in there!

I had some peaches, and I had Dorie Greenspan’s fabulous baking book, and here’s what I made:

Pick-me-up cake

The recipe is for a cranberry “upside downer” cake, and I made the peach version (no cranberries or nuts, substitute peeled & sliced peaches) with the following changes: I added a 1/4 tsp. of both vanilla and almond extract, 1/2 cup rolled oats, and an additional 1/4 cup of milk. Also, you can’t turn the peach version right out of the pan… it’s so juicy, you have to let it sit for an agonizing half hour beforehand (we went out of the house to remove temptation).

This cake is absolutely fantastic. I’ve already bought more peaches to make it again!

The other thing I recently made was about 8 cups of pesto from the three basil bushes in my garden. We’ve been picking the bolting flowers as fast as we could, but they were getting away from us and the garden was drying out (I’m watering less in an effort to get the tomatoes to quit leafing and start fruiting).

Basil

A friend and I spent an hour stripping all the leaves from the three plants. One was an opal, one an Italian, and the last and most productive, a lemon variety. I roasted about a pound of pine nuts, and used the Costco prepeeled garlic. Let’s see… I also threw in a little lemon juice (to try to keep the bright green), some salt, olive oil and parmesan cheese… all sort of by eye, in four huge batches in our food processor. I gave the friend about a third of the haul (she also did a bunch of babysitting for me; she deserved it!) and put most in the freezer, saving one cup to toss with pasta and some chicken breast sauteed with red onion and more lemon juice.

Yeah, I know I’m supposed to grate the cheese and pound the pesto in my mortar… I guess I’m just a Philistine. But at least I’m a Philistine with a freezer full of pesto! Woohoo!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Food therapy

  1. That peach cake looks fantastic! Thank you so much for all the pesto too. It is a really delicious batch šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

