And now for a little sweet treat

So Bill asked me to pick up some Ovaltine and vanilla ice cream when I was shopping yesterday. Intrigued, I asked him what he needed both ingredients for. Turned out they were separate cravings… but it got me thinking. Would it be possible to make a topping for ice cream using Ovaltine?

We have the chocolate version, so I adapted a basic chocolate sauce:

Ovaltine Ice Cream Sauce

1/3 cup cocoa powder
2/3 cup chocolate Ovaltine
1 cup milk
1 tablespoon light corn syrup

Simmer in a saucepan for about five minutes, whisking constantly. Watch out when it gets to the boiling point… it can bubble over really quickly.

Remove from heat and whisk in 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.

I cooled ours in an ice water bath for a few moments to bring down the temp, then scooped a few mugs of vanilla bean ice cream (the only one in the store that didn’t have artificial vanilla flavoring! sheesh!), then drench with your sauce and devour. Yum!

Can it be that nobody has thought to do this before? I’m doubtful, but I don’t see any other recipes for it on the ‘net. Well, pass the word, because this is some seriously good stuff!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “And now for a little sweet treat

  1. YUM! That would never have occurred to me. So what did Bill need the ice cream and Ovaltine for, anyway?

Leave a Reply

