Summer’s last hurrah?

There’s been a dip in the temperature lately. Mums are starting to show up on porches. Acorn and butternut squashes are taking over the market tables. I had an uncontrollable urge to make white bean and ham soup the other day. Yep, it must be close to autumn!

But I’m not ready for summer to be over yet… I just got a bunch of heavenly smelling nectarines and some golden raspberries (I think they will become a galette soon). And last night, I made some FANTASTIC refrigerator pickles! They are sweet, tangy, crisp, spicy, sour… just an explosion of wonderful flavors and textures. Please do try them, especially if you’ve never made pickles at home.

Summer’s-Not-Over-Yet Pickles

1 red onion, halved and sliced into half-rings
6 pickle cukes (or a couple big ones), sliced
1 tsp. mustard seeds
1 tsp. turmeric
1 tsp. celery seed
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
3 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup kosher salt
3 cups white vinegar (or enough to cover the veggies)

Mix together into a microwave-safe bowl and microwave on high for 3 minutes. Stir and microwave again for 4 minutes.

Carefully remove, cover and pop into the fridge.

IMG_0010

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Summer’s last hurrah?

  1. They’re in the refrigerator now. They look *so* good!

    • I took most of mine to the Ohio Ren Faire, where I’m braiding this weekend.

      Oddly, the owner of the booth says she can’t eat any, because she does the blood-type diet thing that says her type isn’t supposed to eat pickled items. Sounds pretty goofy to me, but she says she feels better when she doesn’t eat pickles anymore, so maybe there’s something to it. I’d have to feel pretty awful, though, to stop eating pickles.

      How’d yours turn out?

      • I just tasted them. They aren’t quite as cold as they should be, so they came off a little salty, but, omg, once they’re good and cold? I *love* the heat from the red pepper flakes, and the color from that and the red onions and turmeric. The garlic is just right, and the sweet/sour balance. I want to pile a bunch of these on a sandwich or a burger. This is definitely a keeper. I have stolen it and made it my own :):).

  2. Oh, I am *so* going to make these! I *love* pickles.

Leave a Reply

