Reinventing the Wheel: Stop the Madness!

Okay, I admit it. I have favorite recipes that I have to recreate every danged time I make ’em: Green Chili Enchiladas, Meatloaf, Fettuccine Alfredo… I have a few recipes on sites like Epicurious and AllRecipes that I use for basic inspiration, but I can’t ever be content with just using them as they are. I have to incorporate suggestions from the comments, or alter it to accommodate whatever vegans or vegetarians are around, or simply start freewheeling based on available ingredients and muses catch my attention.

One of the theoretical uses of this blog was to keep track of these favorite recipes, updated with the changes I’ve tried and liked. I think I did that with the jambalaya recipe a while back, but have sadly fallen down on the job in the interim.

So… here’s a dish I regularly slap together, and finally have gathered all the changes into one place. I’m recording it here mostly to save me time in the future, but in case others are interested in giving it a whirl, I’ll gladly share it.

Mamagotcha’s Turkey Stroganoff
1 lb. pasta (traditionally egg noodles, but I’m not gonna tell if you use penne)
1 lb. ground turkey
4 oz. butter
One yellow onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, pressed
4 tablespoons flour
2 cups chicken broth or water
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon prepared mustard
1/2 to 1 lb. mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup sour cream
1/4 cup sherry
dash nutmeg
Salt and pepper to taste

Bring pasta water to a boil (chop your onions and mushrooms while it’s heating up) and cook according to instructions (you can finish the rest of the meal while it’s boiling). Brown meat in butter in large saute pan over medium heat. Add onions, cook until softened. Add pressed garlic. Add mushrooms, cook until limp. Stir in the flour until absorbed. Stir in broth or water, and bring to a boil, stirring constantly until thickened. Lower the heat and add mustard and Worcestershire sauce. Add in the sour cream and sherry; don’t return to a boil or you’ll have a curdled mess. Heat briefly then add a bit of grated nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste.

I like to return the drained noodles to their boiling pot and then pour the sauce in with them. While it cools a little bit and the noodles soak in all that stroganoffy goodness, you can rip up some lettuce leaves for a salad.

This is a pretty forgiving recipe… you can nudge the amounts of pasta, turkey, mushrooms and broth up and down as needed (or as available).

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

