Aye and begorrah!

Even though I’m only a quarter Irish, and that quarter was mostly disowned and ignored by other family members, I do like to celebrate holidays with food. So here’s the St. Patrick’s Day Dinner Report!

IMG_0220

Boiled Beef Dinner: I did the corned beef brisket in a slow cooker this year, with half Guinness and half water covering it (and it still took two whole cans!), with a head of peeled, crushed garlic, a palmful of peppercorns, and a bay leaf. It was cooked over about six hours and came out just lovely, I thought. For the last two hours, I popped in a quartered onion, a couple of chunked-up carrots, and a half-dozen quartered red potatoes. The last hour, I added a cabbage cut into eighths (had to ladle out some of the broth to git it all in there).

Irish Soda Bread: I took my friend Kate Healy’s Great Nana Kelly’s recipe, and tweaked it (cut it into thirds… we didn’t need three whole loaves… and added some goodies). It turned out great, and was devoured quickly.

Great Nana Kelly’s Irish Soda Bread (with tweaks from me)
1 2/3 c. all-purpose unbleached white flour
1/3 c. white sugar
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. caraway seeds
1 tsp. grated orange zest
3 Tbsp. cold butter, cut into small cubes
1 egg
3/4 c. buttermilk
1/2 c. currants

Preheat oven to 350, grease and flour a loaf pan.

In the bowl of a standing mixer using the paddle attachment, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, baking soda, caraway seeds, and orange zest. Throw in the cubes of butter and let it run until it starts coming together.

Crack egg into another bowl, beat lightly. Add buttermilk to egg and beat together.

Add buttermilk mixture to flour mixture, mix just until it comes together (but do NOT overbeat!). Fold in the currants and scrape into the pan (a rubber spatula is helpful here).

Bake for about 50 minutes (test with toothpick). Let cool in pan a few minutes, then cool completely on a rack. Great the next day toasted with a bit of butter!

IMG_0217

I also made the amazing Car-Bomb Cupcakes from Smitten Kitchen. This recipe is so wonderful that I dasn’t change a thing (except that I couldn’t find the whiskey, and substituted brandy in the ganache. No complaints!).

Hope you had a great St. Patty’s day yourself! What did YOU eat?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Aye and begorrah!

  1. Благодарю за блог

    Прочитал, конечно, далеко от моей темы. Но, все же, можно с вами сотрудничать. Как вы сами относитесь к доверительному управлению?

  2. Хороший блог!

    Надо почаще бывать на вашем блоге)) интересно

  3. Классный блог!

    Благодарю за информацию

  4. quarter Irish???
    Who?
    I did some research and I can’t even find Grandpa being AM. Indian. Looks all German to me

  5. looks awesome! I can’t decide which part is the most tempting. I wish i’d though to do a corned beef and cabbage today (my current crock-pot day, except today we’re having pasta because my act wasn’t gotten together).

Leave a Reply

