Key Lime Pi(c)e Cream

Key  Lime Pice Cream

Inspiration:
Today was our milk delivery day, so I had another batch of fresh cream to use. I also had a nice bag of limes left from the Mojito Granita last week, and half a batch of the cheesecake crust crumbles left from the Cherry Cheesecake ice cream. My friend Amy had suggested a good use for those crumbs, even as she was finishing up her cheesecake: Key Lime Pie ice cream. Today seemed to be a good day for it, so away we go!

Recipe:
To my great surprise, one of the first recipes that popped up when I was searching for a Key Lime recipe was this one (a guest post by Jamie Lothridge of My Baking Addiction), which was eggless and didn’t even require chilling before churning. I was sold! Here’s my version:

Key Lime Pie Ice Cream

1 1/2 cups whole milk
1/2 cup freshly squeezed lime juice (from about four limes*)
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/8 teaspoon Kosher salt
1 can sweetened condensed milk (14 oz.)
1 batch graham cracker crumbs (from the Cherry Cheesecake recipe, inspired by the graham cracker crust recipe and crumb technique in Momofuku Milk Bar)

Whisk together milk, lime juice, heavy cream, salt and sweetened condensed milk.
Pour mixture into your ice cream maker, and freeze. When mixture resembles soft-serve ice cream, add the graham cracker crumbs and let mix until combined, then transfer to a container and let harden in the freezer (or just devour right away, if you’re like me!)

*I used the readily available Persian limes (Key limes are smaller and harder to find)… perhaps a purist could tell the difference, but I’m betting you’ll find this substitution to be quite satisfactory.

Results:
My oldest son immediately declared this to be his “new favorite ice cream.” The lime flavor was lighter and more delicate than I thought it would be. The initial flavor hit is all cream, and then the tang of the lime slips in and moves forward to take the stage. The crumbs add some textural interest and definitely calls the pie to mind, but this ice cream would be fine without them if you aren’t a fan of mixing your creamy and crunchy treats together… however, I love the play between them and I thought it worked beautifully here. Great stuff for finishing up a warm summer evening!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

