Yellowtail Grapefruit Granita

 
grapefruit granita
 

Inspiration:
The heatwave was still going strong, and we were going to have visitors over the weekend. I wanted to have something delicious ready to offer, maybe a couple of somethings. I wasn’t sure yet what kind of ice cream I was going to do, but I knew I could get a granita going while I was deciding. My sweetie was at the store getting burger buns, so I texted him a request for a bunch of pink grapefruit. Maybe it was selfish… I knew three of the four people I share the house with all had the genetic sensitivity to a substance that makes grapefruit taste unbearably bitter to some folks, but not to me!

Recipe:
I looked through both of my books, and found a grapefruit/Champagne sorbet recipe in the Perfect Scoop. But I wasn’t going to use the ice cream machine, and I didn’t have any Champagne. However, I did have a mostly-full bottle of what we call “adult soda pop,” the Yellowtail Moscato. It’s delightfully fizzy, fruity and sweet, and goes down verrrry easily. I thought it would be an excellent pairing with the grapefruit, so I decided to go for it.

Yellowtail Grapefruit Granita
1 1/3 cup Yellowtail Moscato
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon Karo corn syrup
Juice of 4 squeezed grapefruits

Heat 1 cup of the wine over medium heat and add sugar and corn syrup. Stir until dissolved, remove from heat. Stir in the remaining wine and grapefruit juice. Pour into a shallow sealable container and place in your freezer. In an hour, take a fork and stir up any frozen bits. Continue to stir every half hour or so. The mix will slowly transform from juice to slurry to fluffy pink snow. Depending on your freezer, this process could take anywhere from three to six hours.

Results:
The guests requested a taste of the granita after a few hours of freezing, and it was very good… refreshing and bright, but still a little slushy. Here’s a photo of the first serving, you can see how it resembles a Slurpee:

grapefruit slushy

The next morning brought a delightful surprise. A few moments of fluffing with a fork, and I had a bowl full of light, snowy, fine-grained granita. The flavor return on the minimal amount of work this recipe required was incredible. I will definitely be making this again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

