Almond Joy Body Butter

I wanted to find a way to make a nourishing, succulent, moisturizing hand lotion or cream at home, mostly as a holiday gift but also for myself. I found lots of ideas, and finally settled on this version. I did the original from Rawmazing with the shea butter, and it indeed felt absolutely silky and rich, but I think the stuff I got was heading into rancid and the resulting butter wasn’t as delicious-smelling as I’d hoped. So I changed it up a bit, and am now using this formula.

I was fixing another batch tonight and thought I should share it with you all… it’s SO easy and it feels SO good! I bring a little Tupperware container of it with me to use after I do my deep water therapy (followed by the jacuzzi, the wet and dry saunas, and a long hot shower)… after all that water, my skin is really stripped and needs a little pampering. This stuff does the trick, and smells so delicious!

Almond Joy Body Butter
(based on a recipe from Rawmazing)

Makes 2 1/2 to 3 cups whipped butter.

  • 1 cup cocoa butter (I got mine from Amazon)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (Costco or Amazon)
  • 1/2 cup almond oil
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (optional)
  1. Melt cocoa butter and coconut oil together on low heat or in a double boiler. Let cool for 30 minutes.
  2. Stir in almond oil and vanilla.
  3. Place oil mixture in freezer until oils partially solidify (about 20 or 30 minutes).
  4. Whip with the whisk attachment on your kitchen mixer until you get a creamy butter-like consistency.
  5. Store in clean jar and enjoy!

Feel free to swap other oils, but remember to keep the ratio 75% solid to 25% liquid.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

